Children of Job: Where Faith & Hubris Meet
Jobcast: Fathoming God
Paper Tiger
5
Preview
0:00
-43:01

Paper Tiger

A Mythic Narrative (audio)
5

Dear Cain

I don’t expect you to believe me, but none of this was my idea. I’m not angry at you for what you did. You were only following your nature, as I was mine. The story was predetermined from the start. You were written to play the slayer, as I was down to be the slain. As long as I was Abel, you had to be Cain.

Suicide by brother? I can’t think of a better way to go. This is not just a goodbye note; it’s also a thank you letter for all you have done. By being such a ferocious lion, you have led me to lie down with the lamb.

Thank you, brother, and fare thee well. Death is indeed the crown of all, and I couldn’t have done it without you!

Abel

Songs: “Never Let Me Go” by Big Blood; “Memories Can’t Wait” (Talking Heads cover) by Joy Zipper

Listen to this episode with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to Children of Job: Where Faith & Hubris Meet to listen to this post and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.

Children of Job: Where Faith & Hubris Meet
Jobcast: Fathoming God
Exegeting Religion & Excreting the BS